DrawMo!

For those who wish to draw more

Here comes a drawmonaut! November 1, 2009

Filed under: .Lucy,Day 01,Meet the DrawMonauts — Lucy Foley @ 7:23 pm
Tags: ,

Hello, I am Lucy. I’ve been drawing for kind of a while, occasionally trying to collect them all in one place, but so far it hasn’t really worked out. I draw squiggles on the hoof. I spent a week in Berlin in January 2007, arriving in time for the hurricane. I did not find people terribly friendly and so I bought a notebook and some crayons and kept a colourful notebook for the week. This is the first page (after the title page, which is ‘Berlin in the colours of frustration and hope’). It is, I believe, a self portrait. I am happy to be a drawmonaut and think the condition deserves to have its own t-shirt. In other news, I am making a record and it rocks. Until we are finished though, you will have to slake your Lucysong thirst here.

Berlin notebook page 1

 

4 Responses to “Here comes a drawmonaut!”

  1. margaretei Says:

    Hi Lucy, thanks for the myspace link (there’s always room for more Cole Porter covers). Hope there’s time for sketching/squigglin’ while you’re working on the record. Your colors rock and I’m always impressed when someone picks up chalk pastels (or is it watercolor?) because those fuckers hate me.

  2. lucytakesoff Says:

    Hey margaret! Thanks, yes they are chalk pastels and I find them very forgiving, generally. I like to smudge. I’m going to Paris this weekend, alone, so we’ll see what happens.

  3. margaretei Says:

    Oh, Paris! I’ve got a post in the works about the illustrated historical fiction The Invention of Hugo Cabret, which takes place in Paris in the 1920s (I think). It’s gorgeous. Have fun in Paris!

  4. India Says:

    It is, I believe, a self portrait.

    Yes, I’d say this looks somewhat Lucylike—though I think of you as having more purple about you, somehow. But in Berlin, two years ago, perhaps you didn’t.


Leave a Reply

