DrawMo!

For those who wish to draw more

Moving targets November 28, 2007

Filed under: .India,Day 28 — India @ 3:13 pm
Tags: , , ,

Rachel checking e-mail

The above was my second attempt to draw my lovely friend Rachel, whom I’m visiting in Ireland this week. The first time, I had just outlined her hair when she got up to go do something. So I switched to drawing her daughter, Rosa, who also got up and moved as soon as I’d sketched as far as her eyebrows. Then Rachel sat back down, but with her head in a different position. So I finished that drawing, but it wasn’t very flattering or accurate. Later, when she opened her laptop to check e-mail, however, she did sit still long enough for me to get a decent sketch.

Below is the drawing of Rosa that I started while she was watching TV from a chair near the window. Then she got up and moved to a pillow on the floor, so I went back to my previous project of drawing her mom. Later, however, Rosa sat at the table with me and started drawing Rachel, too. So I finished my drawing of Rachel and resumed my drawing of Rosa, although she was sitting right next to me and in a totally different position.

Rosa

All these people, moving all the time!

 

2 Responses to “Moving targets”

  1. doingart Says:

    My advice is to stick to dead stuff. Well, non-moving stuff.

    Nat

  2. mado002 Says:

    I think they’re excellent. Nothing focuses the mind like a moving target!
    Andrea


Leave a Reply

