DrawMo!

For those who wish to draw more

Bourbon & Bob November 21, 2007

Filed under: .India,Day 20 — India @ 4:20 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

bourbon toddy
The second hot toddy I’ve applied to my current rhinovirus. I ordered this one at a bar near my office, where I go because they have really good food. The bartender had never made a hot toddy before, however, and although he was game, this was not a very good one. Especially since even though I thought I shouted "Scotch!" quite loud enough over the Rolling Stones (which is what he plays, 90 percent of the time), in the event, he made my drink with bourbon, which I don’t like. Also, not enough lemon, and not enough honey. Or, to look at it another way, too much water. Your choice.

And, as a dubious bonus drawing for yesterday, there’s this:

Bob

I try not to make a habit of this, but I needed some artwork to illustrate a story about that new Bob Dylan movie, and I didn’t want to use a typical stock photo. I’d tried half-assedly to hire an illustrator for it last week, but he was busy. So, with apologies to both Milton Glaser and Aubrey Beardsley (what a combo!), I drew my own. The final version is in the story: The Wandering Kind.

 

9 Responses to “Bourbon & Bob”

  1. Rhinovirus? To this day my father is persuaded he was denied a job because, when asked his body type on a form in the early 50s, he replied “endomorph”.

  2. India Amos Says:

    Ha! Good one. That’s what you get for creating a form with fill-ins instead of multiple choice.

    What do you think he was supposed to say? “Bipedal”? “Pear-shaped”?

  3. cynthiacloskey Says:

    I like the psychedelic, serpentine styling of Bob’s hair.

  4. kim Says:

    That is SO Bob Dylan hair. Yay, Scotch – after our drive north with everybody and their mother on the road, I’m off to find a Rusty Nail!

  5. India Amos Says:

    Speaking of big hair, for those of you who are keeping track of my glamorous so-called life, today at lunch Malcolm Gladwell was sitting at the table next to mine.

    I was at a fancier joint than usual, obvy.

  6. mado002 Says:

    The Bob Dylan drawing is great, especially the hair. Hope you’re feeling better.
    Andrea

  7. awittykitty Says:

    I’ve tried to paint Bob Dylan several times. Young Bob Dylan. I love his face. You did a great job. I just saw him in concert in October.

  8. Cooper Says:

    These are both marvelous. We are so used to thinking of representing objects in abstracted ways–the lines by which you create the class and its contents–that we often forget what an abstract process it is. Beautiful. (And I hope you are feeling better.)

  9. India Amos Says:

    Thanks, y’all.

    witty: Yeah, I had no idea until very recently that Bob Dylan was once sort of almost cute. But he’s been an odd-looking bird for a very long time.


Leave a Reply

