DrawMo!

For those who wish to draw more

Green Marketing November 3, 2007

I’ve been listening to the audiobook of The Omnivore’s Dilemma for the last few weeks, and boy, is it depressing. American food is all poison! And it’s killing the whole planet! Unless you buy organic, from local growers at the farmers market, of course. Unfortunately, I almost never get out of the house early enough on Saturdays to get to the farmers market in my neighborhood; and it’s a piddly small one, anyway, especially in the colder months. Today, though, I made the effort.

Here’s where I went:

03 Borough Hall plaza

And here’s what I wore:

03 marketing getup

I drew these while sitting on the steps of Brooklyn Borough Hall, with my fingers getting so numb that I had trouble pulling the cap off the blue pen. I am so not ready for winter.

More obsessive descriptions, with lots of popup notes, can be found at Flickr.

More info about NYC’s many Greenmarkets | Slow Food International

 

2 Responses to “Green Marketing”

  1. seepi Says:

    Too funny – I struggle with the same problem over here in Australia! Our farmer’s market is right near our house, but only on at crack of dawn on Saturday morning. but now I’ve found an organic place that delivers once a week – bliss!

    I love the market pic – so lively.

  2. India Amos Says:

    Thanks, Seepi!

    We have that organic vegetable delivery thing here, too, but my friends who’ve had it complain that it’s always heavy on the root vegetables. And I hardly ever cook, so I’m afraid I couldn’t keep up with it. As it is, I throw out maybe half the produce I buy, though I hardly buy any.

    All year, I’ve had this problem with celeriac, in particular. I keep buying them and then not using them, and eventually I throw them out. I love the idea of celeriac, but when I get one, I don’t really know what to do with it. I bought one last weekend and said to myself, “I’m not even going to put this one in the refrigerator. If I can’t come up with something to make out of it today, I’m just going to put it directly into the trash and congratulate myself on supporting the celeriac farmers of America.” So I made a celeriac risotto, which was very tasty.

    Now half the risotto is sitting in my fridge. Help!


Leave a Reply

