DrawMo!

For those who wish to draw more

Day 24 November 25, 2006

Filed under: .Elizabeth,Day 24,Drawing — elizabethperry @ 12:05 am
Tags:

doll 24

And now for something completely different.  Shapes of highlights or shadows chosen from previous drawings, recolored.   (To think that I have six days more with this still life… )

 

4 Responses to “Day 24”

  1. kim Says:

    I’ve enjoyed watching this still life re-invent itself through out the month! It’ll be nice to see the 30 days in one view. I’m tempted to try and do something similar in December. I’m thinking about using some of the techniques that you explored – any words of wisdom?

  2. Thanks, Kim.

    Hmm… words of wisdom? part of the fun of this challenge has been the horror of it, if you know what I mean. I think that anything I could have picked would have gotten really boring to me after a certain number of repetitions, pushing me towards outrageousness, and taking new chances – and that’s where the drama, the disasters, and the discovery has been.

    I can’t remember whether I posted at the beginning that I took a photo of my still life and have worked from that. (Too many people in my house, too many chances for a set-up to be moved or parts of it borrowed…) So I recommend using a photo as a constant. I tried for a variety of objects, including the doll’s head so that I could think about figure drawing, even though her eyes are giant…

    I will post the page of thirty at the end of this week – and I may even try to make an animated sequence out of it – see how ambitious I’m feeling.

    If you do try something along the lines of this kind of still life repetition challenge, please post the series, here or elsewhere – I would love to see where it takes you!

  3. kim Says:

    I do understand the “horror” of it all – doing the drawings this month has been quite an emotion roller coaster that I didn’t anticipate. I think I will try to do a December still life repetition challenge and I will definitely use a photo.

  4. markdm Says:

    You know what might be interesting, Kim? You might consider taking photos of your still life from several angles so you can switch things up a few times over the month. Just a thought. It’s been fun to see how you’ve managed to vary your scene, Elizabeth.


Leave a Reply

