DrawMo!

For those who wish to draw more

I dunno, why not 5? November 20, 2006

Filed under: .Mark,Day 19,Drawing — markdm @ 5:28 pm
Tags: ,

5; click for larger version

11/19/06: This was inspired by Jasper Johns, although you don’t see a lot of stippling in his work.

By the way, the New York Times Book Review has picked its 10 best-illustrated children’s books for 2006. All the illustrations in the slide show are terrific, but oddly, I find the Maurice Sendak less interesting than several of the others.

 

4 Responses to “I dunno, why not 5?”

  1. tassava Says:

    Gorgeous – the sponsor of a lizardy episode of Sesame Street. How did you do the stippling? Is it just a matter of taking lots of care, or do you use specific tools (a particular pen, a straightedge, etc.)?

  2. markdm Says:

    It’s mostly a matter of being careful, although it helps to have a pen that puts out the right amount of ink when you jab the paper with it. I used a Faber-Castell Pitt artist pen with a superfine nib. At some point, I’ll try it with one of my brush pens, and I bet *that* will make a mess.

    Thanks for the kind words, Christopher.

  3. India Amos Says:

    This reminds me strongly of Charles Demuth’s painting I Saw the Figure 5 in Gold, which I had to draw for Art Appreciation class in ninth or tenth grade. In graphite pencil [shudder]. Were you thinking of that piece, or had you not seen it?

  4. markdm Says:

    Wow, India, I’d never seen that piece before right now, but there’s definitely a resemblance, isn’t there? I’ll have to check out some more of his work.


Leave a Reply

