DrawMo!

For those who wish to draw more

Beetles November 9, 2006

Filed under: .India,Day 08 — India @ 1:07 am
Tags: ,

Okay, so I have a surprising amount of insect-themed stuff in my house. I hadn’t noticed until now.

Beetles

 

4 Responses to “Beetles”

  1. Elisabeth Says:

    I like these a lot!

  2. hylacrucifer Says:

    Yes, India. Lovely, lovely beetles.

  3. dylan Says:

    Really nice beetles, wow! The highlights, background, and shadows are all very nicely done. I like this picture a lot.

    Cute how you put the model on the page with the drawings too.

  4. India Amos Says:

    I was feeling like a slacker after other Drawmonauts’ patient, detailed drawings, so I thought I’d try to apply a litte more attention span to my next attempt.

    The real challenge was getting it to look like anything at all with my strange palette of Pitt artist pens. There’s no black or gray in my set, so it was hard to render the shadows on the silver. All I had for the midtones was light blue, a fleshy pink, and a greenish yellow. The flashless photograph actually makes my colors look more accurate than they are, as a pinky-gold cast has been laid over everything.

    I may try drawing this a few more times, in other media, and maybe with a single light source (this was under a desk lamp plus an overhead, hence the doubled shadow). It’s a tricksy little object.


Leave a Reply

