DrawMo!

For those who wish to draw more

Leg Candy November 7, 2006

Filed under: .India,Day 05,Day 06 — India @ 2:21 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I tried to be sneaky and draw while waiting for the subway, but it seems that I’ve merely found another Magical Thinking™ method of making the train come faster.* I had barely started to sketch this guy’s legs in their somewhat silly jeans (his back was to me), working fast, when he stepped over his bag and paced around to the other side of the platform. There was another guy facing me, watching, so I tried to act nonchalant, like I hadn’t really been drawing the guy who moved. I continued to draw his bag, and then started in on the tiles, and then the train rolled in.

SS Leg

It was about 12:15 a.m., and usually my train takes forEVER to come at that hour, but there it was. Oh, well.

So, back to inanimate objects; they can’t escape me.

Candy Jar

This is my blue glass mason jar full of candy. Most of the candy inside it is this solid sugar stuff that looks like seashells. I bought the jar at a tag sale sixteen years ago, and I inherited the candy with my desk at a job I started ten years ago. Obviously, it is purely decorative candy. So, a glass jar full of seashells, if you will.


* The best Magical Thinking method of making the train come is to bring knitting and start working on it while standing on the platform. The train will come immediately, and it will always be so full so that you can’t get a seat. Or, if there are seats, they’re all those cramped middle ones where you won’t have enough elbow room to knit.

The best technique for making the train not come is to forget to bring a book or iPod or other amusement. The more bored and sleepy you are, the longer the train will take to arrive. It’s foolproof.

 

3 Responses to “Leg Candy”

  1. Elisabeth Says:

    Love the jar! I considered drawing the jar where I keep buttons, but the thought of all the reflections and buttons inside and the shiny lid … well … I chickened out and drew my feet instead.

  2. margaretei Says:

    Yes, way to tackle reflections. I love the bits of color for the candy. And all the subway stuff is true. *still bitter towards the 1/9*

  3. India Amos Says:

    Thanks! I’d never tried to draw anything so forbidding before, and I wasn’t keen on it, but I didn’t have any better ideas, either. It didn’t come out half as bad as I expected, but I may have another go at it in a week or so, with a different medium. Watercolor, I’m thinking.


Leave a Reply

