DrawMo!

For those who wish to draw more

Woman reading, Surf fishing November 6, 2006

Filed under: Drawing — markdm @ 11:59 pm
Tags: , ,

Woman reading; click for larger version
11/3/06, Main and Chestnut, downtown Ventura, Calif. Dani was at a painting workshop in nearby Camarillo, so I had the day to myself. This is one of the things I saw.

Surf fishing; click for larger version
11/4/06, on the Pacific Coast Highway near Santa Monica, Calif. Day 2 of Dani’s painting workshop; I spent a lot of the day in the car. But not all of it, obviously.

 

3 Responses to “Woman reading, Surf fishing”

  1. margaretei Says:

    I really like this, I feel like I can really sense the scenes you were looking at. Is this ink or black watercolor or . . .? And I love the beach scene; the ocean in November! And you rendered it well.

  2. Dani Says:

    I think your Ventura scene is absolutely remarkable. You got so many interesting details and textures into the picture and yet made it into a completely cohesive scene. I love the fire hydrant and the way there are ghosts still in the window and how that plant looks against the door. The woman at the bus stop looks comfortable and engaged in her reading. The stop light is a work of art in itself. You’ve really got to frame that puppy.

  3. MarkDM Says:

    Thanks, you two.

    Margaret: I used Faber-Castell’s Pitt artist pens. I have a set of brush pens in six shades of gray. I used four of those, plus one with a superfine nib. These are miniatures: My sketchbook is about 3-1/2 inches by 5 inches.


Leave a Reply

