DrawMo!

For those who wish to draw more

Meet a Drawmonaut/First Drawings November 5, 2006

Filed under: .Christopher,Day 01,Day 02,Day 03,Drawing,Meet the DrawMonauts — tassava @ 10:04 pm
Tags: ,

I’m making a belated and incomplete effort to get on the DrawMo! train with this post. In common with other Drawmonauts, I drew a lot when I was younger (much younger: like junior high), but stopped for some reason long ago. Earlier this year, I was lucky enough to meet the cartoonist Lynda Barry when she came to talk at the college where I work. Among other things, she talked about how shameful it is that adults often stop drawing or doing other fun, creative things simply because they feel like it’s not what they “should” do, and said, in short, that we should all make sure to try to draw something every day. I started doing that last spring, and DrawMo! seems like a good way to keep going. I’ve been inspired by the drawings everyone else has posted, so here (over on Flickr) are my drawings so far.

DrawMo! Day 1

A crow I veered to miss while biking to work one day. (It was busy taking care of some roadkill, but I can’t or won’t draw that.)

DrawMo! Day 2

A gourd in our produce basket.

DrawMo! Day 3

A telephone pole on my way to work.

As these prosaic sketches suggest, my biggest barriers to DrawMo’ing mo are time (job, a toddler and a newborn at home, etc.) and simply thinking of things to draw. I’m happy to see that lots of others are struggling with the latter problem, but here it is only nine p.m., so I’d better get cracking on Days 4 and 5.

 

5 Responses to “Meet a Drawmonaut/First Drawings”

  1. India Amos Says:

    Yay! Glad you could join us, Christopher.

    We loves us some Lynda Barry, yes we do. Do you have One! Hundred! Demons!?

  2. margaretei Says:

    So neat that you’ve tried something like this before Christopher. And I really like these. Especially the little details (spots on the gourd, the grass under the telephone poll, the bird’s expression—don’t hit me buddy!). Welcome.

  3. Christopher Says:

    Thanks for the comments. I’m glad you liked my modest attempts. Day 4 is coming up soon… India, I do have Barry’s last book, and I loved it. Beyond the great art and the wonderful stories, I liked that the book is partly about drawing – and that it utterly channels Lynda Barry’s personality.

  4. cynthiacloskey Says:

    Your crow drawing in particular brings to mind two of the great influences in my life: James Thurber and Edward Lear. Thank you for reminding me of them.

    I have secretly been fretting that I should be drawing with shading and stuff that I think people learn in some drawing school that I didn’t attend. So I had forgotten how much meaning can be conveyed with simplicity. Now I will drop the fretting and see what happens.

  5. margaretei Says:

    I agree with Ms. Closkey. Drawing school chiaroscuro=overrated (a lot of the time, I think). People I’ve met who have a “good eye” can be like good writers: saying a lot by saying a little, showing not telling, etc. Again, well done!


Leave a Reply

