DrawMo!

For those who wish to draw more

Oh. Well then. OR Ask the DrawMonauts! November 2, 2006

Filed under: .Margaret,Meta — Mgtei @ 4:32 pm
Tags: , ,

So, just finished my drawing for the day (I’m hoping to post/flickr this weekend); I did it in Prismacolor colored pencils on two facing pages in my Moleskine. And . . . apparently you can’t erase Prismacolor from Moleskine paper. At least not with a kneadable eraser. Which is fine; I’m excited just to have actually used a colored pencil and filled two pages at one go. But if in the future I want to use more than one colored pencil and conquer my monochrome block, erasing might be good.

Does anyone know if another kind of eraser would work? Those PC pencils lay down pretty thick, which is why they’re so gorgeous, but I’ll have to learn to practice some restraint/planning (ew!) if I can’t erase. I hate to stray from the Moleskine it’s new! that works out to $.50/day because I love its creamy goodness, portability, and I’m comfortable with it. But if I become brave will PC colored pencils erase better from other kinds of paper? The Prismacolor website gave me nuttin’.
Signed,

Questioning in Queens.

 

7 Responses to “Oh. Well then. OR Ask the DrawMonauts!”

  1. Elizabeth Says:

    Maybe you could just say the heck with erasing for the month and just revel in the lovely paper and colors?

    I believe that the greatest thing about drawing every day is that you don’t really have time to fuss – the next drawing is coming up so quickly – at least that’s been my experience. I take a lot more chances than I used to. Some of them work out, and some of them… well I’m drawing the next day, so I don’t worry about it.

    Can’t wait to see your posts/flickr pics this weekend!

  2. margaretei Says:

    I love my kneady eraser; breaks my heart that it’s not all powerful.
    I like what you said about the next drawing coming up quickly (in 20 minutes, here)—that is refreshing, somehow. Doing colored pencil at all was a new thing for me too, so I’ll party about that.
    Using one color for a whole drawing though, I went through almost a sixth of a pencil. :-)

  3. dylan Says:

    Kneadable erasers are best for smooshing graphite around on the page but they don’t work very well on hard-to-erase stuff. Try a Staedtler eraser: they’re very white, rectangular things, usually packaged in blue cardboard I think (last time I bought one anyhow) which you can leave on the eraser as a kind of grip. Much more powerful … though you may just have found a potent, permanent combination of paper and pencil.

  4. dylan Says:

    I want to add that colored pencils, in my experience, are much harder to erase than ordinary gray graphite pencils, on any surface.

  5. margaretei Says:

    Thanks for the tip Dylan, I’ll look into getting a Staedtler. I’ve seen them around, but like you said, I usually do graphite or ink so never needed one. Hooray, art supply store trip!
    And if I have found the potent, permanent materials combo, I’ll try to use the force wisely.

  6. India Amos Says:

    Oh, I see that Dylan’s “Staedtler” is what I call a “Mars.” The stick is my favorite.

    Staedtler also makes cool triangular colored pencils, and some short little fine-tip markers that I can’t remember the name of. I feel a trip to the art supply store coming on . . .

  7. d. f. tweney Says:

    Yep, that’s the very one! Hasn’t changed a bit in 20 years, I think. Maybe 50.

    Thanks for the links, India. I am such a lazy blogger commenter.


Leave a Reply

